History

Lakeland

Learn the local history of the Dole Mansion, Country Club, Franciscan Order, First Congregational Church, and Lakeside Arts Park At The Dole.

3

Dole1Charles Dole | Died at 85 Years Old

1800 – Grain Merchant Armour, Dole & Co

1858 – Largest Grain Elevator

Chicago Board of Trade Committee

1873 – Crystal Ice Company

Originally intended as Charles Dole’s summer home.

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Lakeland21860 – Purchased Land 1000 acres surrounding Crystal Lake

Step back to a simpler time to explore the craftsmanship and unexpected brilliance of a Civil War era architectural masterpiece – the historic Dole Mansion.

1863 – Started Building Architectural Styles: Romantic Italianate & Second Empire

Detail Designs:
Wheat Icons Designs – Grain Merchant
Black Walnut Wood
Pocket Doors
Fireplaces – Marble White Carrara
Dumb Waiter
Servant’s Stairs

1865 – Finished Construction Cost: $100,000

Learn More

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

DoorWife: Julia Louise Dole | Died at 66 years old

Son: Sydney Hope Dole | Died at 26 years old

Daughter 1: Mary Florence Dole | Died at 66 years old
1883 – Mary Florence Wed A.C. Stowell

Daughter 2: Harriet(Hattie) Delia Dole | Died at 52 years old

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

4
ice

1873 – Crystal Ice Company

Shipped blocks of ice all over the Midwest.

1896 – Dole Retired
Sold Mansion & Ice Company for $1.00
to son-in-law A.C. Stowell.

1914 – Crystal Lake Ice Company burned down

Learn more

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

countryclub

5

 

CCC1922 – Mrs. Lou Ringling Purchased for $500,000

She was a widow of Al Ringling, oldest brother of the famous circus family.

Original Country Club of Crystal Lake
1925 – Annex Built
Tutor style tower
Magnificent Ballroom
44 Bedrooms
18-Hole Golf Courses

1929 – Great Depression

1938 – Doors Officially Closed

Learn More

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

6

 

church1

1944 – Franciscan Order of Lake Forest Purchased

Converted into St. Mary Minor School for Boys (Prep Seminary)

Annex – School & Bedrooms for the Boys

Mansion – Chapel & Home to the Franciscans

Franciscans Order Coat of Arm – Stained glass window

“Pax et Bonum”- Peace & The Good
“Via, Veritas, Vita”- The Way, The Truth, The Life

Learn More

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

7

 

1CC1976 – First Congregational Church (FCC) Purchased

The annex portion of the structure was renovated for use by thousands of hour of volunteer work.

The Church named the facility “Lakeside Center.”
Community Center
Friendship House Day Care Center
for Children
Church Offices
Meeting Rooms
Reception Hall
Retreat Facilities

1979 – Held the first Ice Cream Social. The Ice Cream Social grew over the years into Lakeside Festival

Learn More

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Today34

 

2002 – major fundraising effort was underway, called the “Lakeside Legacy Project,” spearheaded by the Crystal Lake Jaycees, neighbors, and several community leaders.

Community generously gave over one million dollars in just 42 days to enable the hastily formed Lakeside Legacy Foundation.

Eventual reawakening took over two years, and several hundred thousand dollars in donations to complete The Lakeside Legacy Foundation, a not-for-profit 501(c) 3 organization.

July 4, 2005 – The property officially opened the new Lakeside Legacy Arts Park.

January 25th, 2016 – The property officially changed the name to Lakeside Arts Park At The Dole.

Fun   program

Learn More

September 13, 2012 – New endeavor ‘the Listening Room’ a destination to be enjoyed by both the performer and the audience.

Lakeside Legacy Foundation dedicated this beautiful venue on September 13, 2012, and was made possible by the generosity of a special group of individuals from Beach Cite, Inc. Learn More

January 25th, 2016 – The property officially changed the name to Lakeside Arts Park At The Dole.